Alexander Hamilton memorial events: July 11–Weehawken.

Last month, the Alexander Hamilton Awareness Society organized a series of event to commemorate the anniversary of the famous duel between Alexander Hamilton and Aaron Burr on July 11, 1804, Hamilton’s death on July 12, and his funeral on July 14. As you already know, I am currently writing a book about Alexander Hamilton. I figured that these events would be a great way to learn even more about Hamilton and to meet other Hamilton experts. I was not disappointed on either account.

In a series of blog posts, I’ll share with you some of my experiences at these events.

As you’ve probably figured out from some of my recent posts, I also enjoy photography. I took hundreds of photos as these Hamilton events. Don’t worry, I’ll only share a few of the best photos.

On July 11, we gathered in Weehawken, New Jersey, the location of the famous duel between Alexander Hamilton and Aaron Burr. Aaron Burr was the sitting Vice President at the time and Alexander Hamilton was possibly the country’s greatest lawyer after serving his country so admirably for a quarter of a century as a soldier in the army during the revolution, as a representative in New York’s Assembly, as a delegate to the federal Congress, as a delegate to the Constitutional Convention, as the nation’s first Secretary of the Treasury, and as Washington’s second in command during the Quasi-War. America had seen many duels before, but no duel before or since saw such two illustrious men face each other.

I got to Weehawken early–very early–due to the uncertainty of taking the subway and then a bus to a location I had never been to before. This enabled me to wander around Weehawken for a short period. Weehawken is a beautiful small town just across the river from New York City. Here’s a picture I took while wandering around Weehawken:

This is Hamilton Park, near the site where the duel took place:

And a view from the park to the Big Apple:

Here are some photos of the Alexander Hamilton Memorial at the park:

Rand Scholet, President of the Alexander Hamilton Awareness Society, spoke briefly about  Hamilton and the duel:

Some of the attendees took a ferry to New York City and back to Weehawken to experience the boat trips that Hamilton (and Burr) took to and from New York to fight their duel:

That evening, William G. Chrystal, author of Hamilton by the Slice: Falling in Love with Our Most Influential Founding Father, spoke about Hamilton’s greatness at the Weehawken Public Library:

Before leaving Weehawken, we returned to Hamilton Park and the Hamilton Memorial, where we were greeted with the most beautiful view of New York City:

Well, that was day one (July 11, 2012) of the Alexander Hamilton events organized by the Alexander Hamilton Awareness Society. A lot more to come…

4 responses to “Alexander Hamilton memorial events: July 11–Weehawken.

  1. Interesting post, Michael, and some nice photos! I look forward to future installments.

  2. Alexander Hamilton is one of my heroes. I really appreciate your post on meeting with the Alexander Hamilton Awareness Society. I especially liked all the pictures. Thank you for sharing some great photos!

    • There were four days of Hamilton events. That was just day one, though I was unable to attend day four.
      I am currently writing a book about Hamilton. I’ve spent the last year and probably around 2,000 hours reading and researching everything I can about him. Yet, there is still so much to read and learn…

  3. Pingback: Friday Crossword – Hamiltonian Edition | What Would The Founders Think?

Leave a Reply

