Some of the New Discoveries to be Found In Alexander Hamilton: The Formative Years

Over the next several weeks, as Alexander Hamilton: The Formative Years is prepped for publication and its Kickstarter campaign raises funds for publication, I’ll be compiling a list of some of the new discoveries that are to be found in the book. Today, I present to you  two discoveries regarding Alexander Hamilton that have never before been revealed to the public.

  • As a fourteen-year-old in 1771 working for Nicholas Cruger in St. Croix, Alexander Hamilton wrote to John Wendell of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, “We are surprised Mr. [John] Hancock has not sent us the amount of Hancock & Wendell & paid you the Balance, which we requested so long ago.” [John Hancock would later become the President of Congress and Governor of Massachusetts.]
  • Alexander Hamilton’s famous account of the West Indian hurricane of 1772, which was originally published in St. Croix’s The Royal Danish American Gazette, was reprinted in a Boston newspaper in December 1772. Alexander Hamilton apparently never knew this. Neither did his family. Neither has any historian or biographer prior to now.

Remember to support publication of Alexander Hamilton: The Formative Years by pre-ordering your copy today.

4 responses to “Some of the New Discoveries to be Found In Alexander Hamilton: The Formative Years

  1. I’m an aspiring historian at this moment, and I am currently working on what may become a ‘thesis’ on Abraham Lincoln’s Hamiltonian economic platform. I’m also a member of the Alexander Awareness Society, where I found your kickstarter campaign. I pledged $40, thinking what the hell, I may be on the other side of this one day. I was wondering though, why the kickstarter campaign, were no university presses interested in the work?

    • I sent queries to publishers and agents. While waiting to hear back (I’m still getting responses three months later), I decided to do the work to self-publish. I self-published my first two books, so I know what I’m doing. Mainstream publishing just can’t keep up. If I went with them, the book wouldn’t be published for another 6 to 9 months. Instead, the book will be ready in two months.

      • Thanks, my apologies, I wasn’t inferring you didn’t know what you were doing, rather I was more or less inquiring whether publishers just weren’t interested based on subject matter.

        • I don’t know that publishers and agents are not interested, but I do know that it takes them longer to decide whether they are interested than it takes me to produce and publish the book. I can’t believe that three months are querying some agents, they are now asking to see my manuscript. If an agent or publisher had decided within weeks whether they were interested, I would have certainly talked to them about mainstream publishing. But they take forever…

          If you are interested in having a book published, you really have to approach agents and publishers long before the book is finished. Perhaps I should have done that instead of waiting until it was nearly done. But I’m happy with the outcome so far. The only remaining question is sales.

Leave a Reply

