Alexander Hamilton speaks to us from the grave about his planned removal from the $10 bill.

I had the distinct pleasure of asking Alexander Hamilton what he thought about his planned removal from the $10 bill. Major General Hamilton replied:

Mine is an odd destiny. Perhaps no man in the UStates has sacrificed or done more for the present Constitution than myself—and contrary to all my anticipations of its fate, as you know from the very begginning I am still labouring to prop the frail and worthless fabric. Yet I have the murmurs of its friends no less than the curses of its foes for my rewards. What can I do better than withdraw from the Scene? Every day proves to me more and more that this American world was not made for me.
Alexander Hamilton to Gouverneur Morris, February 29 [sic], 1802

Leave a Reply

